Creepy Carrots!

Title: Creepy Carrots!

Authors: Aaron Reynolds
Illustrator: Peter Brown

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, 2012
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: 4-8
Themes: Humor

Opening Lines:

Jasper Rabbit had a passion for carrots. And the carrots that grew in Crackenhopper Field were the best. Fat. Crisp. And free for the taking.

Synopsis (from Amazon):

The Twilight Zone comes to the carrot patch in this clever picture book parable about a rabbit who fears his favorite treats are out to get him.Jasper Rabbit loves carrots—especially Crackenhopper Field carrots.He eats them on the way to school.He eats them going to Little League.
He eats them walking home.
Until the day the carrots start following him…or are they?

Celebrated artist Peter Brown’s stylish illustrations pair perfectly with Aaron Reynold’s text in this hilarious picture book that shows it’s all fun and games…until you get too greedy.

Activities:

In elementary classrooms have students come up with their on creepy vegetable stories. Check out the following post by a teacher, scroll to the bottom.

In keeping with the spooky theme, create a shadow puppet theater at home!

Why I Like This Book:

This book just cracked me up. Just looking at the spooky illustrations caused the twilight zone music to run through my head. The premise of the story was crazy, but the three-color themed illustrations and lighting effects just took the craziness to a whole new level. Seriously, you may never look at carrots the same again or anything else that is your “favorite”. My girls enjoyed being in the know that there really are creepy carrots, seeing how Jasper came up with the solution to the creepy carrots problem, and the twist at the end.

This is a perfect book to spook your kids with for Halloween.

Check-out  Peter Brown’s video about the illustration process, it’s amazing.

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

NOTE ADDED 10/16/12: This book was nominated by Danielle Smith for the 2012 Cybils Awards in the Fiction Picture Book category. I am a second-round judge in this category, but this review reflects my opinions only, not those of any other panelist, or the panel as a whole. Thanks!

32 Comments to “Creepy Carrots!”

  1. Wow! This was a very unusual title and had my interest right away. A great book for kids, and I loved the film clip. Peter is a great artist. Thankyou for sharing Darshana!

  2. Ooo, I so want to read this creepy story now, Darshana!

  3. This book looks AdOrAbLe!! I can just hear my discussion about “free for the taking…” with the kids. Thanks for the lead.

  4. How Cute! Just right for today’s kids. They like being in the know. I”ve got to get this and have it ready for Liam for when he comes. Is it in the libraries already? Would love to check it out. 🙂

  5. Isn’t this an awesome book! And so is the trailer! I read it a few weeks ago after seeing the trailer. I loved it. You did an great review, Darshana!

    • Thanks Penny. I love the trailer, so cool to see how much work went into the illustrations! Peter just creates this beautiful package of illustrations for telling the story.

  6. Thanks for recommending this one to us, Darshana! My kids have been loving it!

  7. Great choice, Darshana! I’ve seen this one in a lot of store windows recently and wondered about it.

  8. So — are your kids willing to eat carrots after this book? Sounds, um, delectable!

  9. I enjoyed this book too Darshana, but I thought it had the weirdest textured paper. A little kid beside me had a tough time separating and turning the pages. Did you notice it too?

    • I know I was probably the first reader of the book (from the library) as the pages were sticking together. But had no issues on subsequent reads.

  10. Just in time for Halloween. How perfect! Thanks Darshana.

  11. My son and I were out picking carrots yesterday, but I had no idea they could be so creepy! The video is brilliant! I really enjoyed that this morning. Great post!

  12. I’m dying to read this, Darshana! It sounds like so much fun! Thanks for adding it to our list!

  13. What a funny, creepy, clever book. I have to get this one! Love the video, adds to the mysterious.

  14. This book looks awesome! I can’t wait to check it out- what a great video, too.

  15. I love Peter Brown! Thanks for sharing.

  16. Thanks for a great review, Darshana! I’m doing Kathy Ellen’s 31 in 31 challenge and this is one of the books I just picked up from the library. So now I think I will do this one for tomorrow. 🙂