Babymoon

Title: Babymoon

Author: Hayley Barrett (check out the interview at Children’s Book Podcast)
Illustrator: Juana Martinez-Neal
Publisher: Candlewick, 2019
Book Type: Love, New Baby
Ages: 3-6

Opening Lines:

The house is hushed. The lights are low.
We’re basking in a newborn glow.
The note we post says
SEE YOU SOON.

Synopsis (from Amazon’s website):

Inside the cozy house, a baby has arrived! The world is eager to meet the newcomer, but there will be time enough for that later. Right now, the family is on its babymoon: cocooning, connecting, learning, and muddling through each new concern. While the term “babymoon” is often used to refer to a parents’ getaway before the birth of a child, it was originally coined by midwives to describe days like these: at home with a newborn, with the world held at bay and the wonder of a new family constellation unfolding.

Activities:

  • If you have baby books for your children, sit down together and peruse through those treasured times. Or go through old baby pictures and home videos together. (Using iMovie my husband takes snippets of home movies and makes a 3-6 minute “baby movie”. My junior high kids still love them to this day.) 
  • Tell a child the story of the day they were born and what their first days/months were like.

Why I Like This Book:

A perfect reminder for any parent-to-be to stop and take stock in those early precious bonding moments. For parents whose kids are older, it’s a trip down memory lane. The book feels true to the new parent experience. While the joyous text doesn’t directly mention new parent fatigue, you can see the loving tiredness in the art. Ms. Barret has a way with words. They are lush, soothing, cozy like a warm blanket. Ms. Martinez-Neal’s warm, soft illustrations cast a tender glow on the new parents as they bond with their baby. A beautiful combination. See for yourself.

Find Babymoon at the following spots:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Goodreads
ISBN-10: 0763688523
ISBN-13: 978-0763688523

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

BABYMOON. Text copyright © 2019 by Hayley Barrett. Illustrations copyright © 2019 by Juana Martinez-Neal. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Candlewick Press, Somerville, MA.

Disclosure: I received my copy of this book from the publisher. This review nevertheless reflects my own and honest opinion about the book.

12 Comments to “Babymoon”

  1. Gorgeous book! I love this idea of a babymoon time.

    • I just wish it weren’t so darn hard to remember. We just remember nicknaming our older daughter “dracula” when she was a newborn because she would be wide-awake at 2am. That time is such a haze.

  2. Those illustrations are swoonworthy. I love that title and the opening so much.

  3. Such a beautiful book!
    Big cheers (shh – don’t wake the baby) for Hayley and Juana!

  4. I love the term babymoon. I’ve never come across that!
    My granddaughter would love this book. Anything about babies and she’s all over it:)

  5. I just listened to Matthew Winner’s Children’s Book Podcast about this book on my way back from school drop-off this morning. The illustrations are amazing, literally “rounding” out the lyrical text. I can’t wait to read it!

  6. Very much looking forward to reading this one!

  7. I can’t believe I never heard the expressions “Babymoon.” You sold me on this story right away. I am searching for really good books for our granddaughter who is expecting in July. Added to the list. Love your shares.

  8. What a sweet book, Darshana. . . I’d love to read it. It is so important to nurture family members, no matter the age!

  9. Such a sweet, tender book. I too look forward to reading it.