The Lorax

I would like to thank morninglightmama for her recent posts about The Lorax, which got me interested in the book. Learn how the story of The Lorax came to be.

Now on to the review. Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Title: The Lorax
Author & Illustrator: Dr. Seuss
Publisher: Random House, 1971
Book Type: Fiction

Ages: 6 and up
Themes: Environmentalism, Greed

Famous Sentence:

“Unless someone like you
cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better.
It’s not.”

Synopsis (from Random House):

Long before saving the earth became a global concern, Dr. Seuss, speaking through his character the Lorax, warned against mindless progress and the danger it posed to the earth’s natural beauty.

Activities:

There are a multitude of links for activities related to this book.

Classroom:

Entertainment: Watch The Lorax movie. See trailer below.

Websites: Check out Seussville and The Lorax Project for more Dr.Seuss related activities and games.

Why I Like This Book:

I have to admit I only came to learn of this book due to the movie release. I love this book for the same reason I love The Grinch Who Stole Xmas. These books first appear to be a fun rhyming, colorful, silly looking stories but later reveal themselves to be exquisitely deep and profound. Perfect combination attracting both young and old.

I like that the story is told in the past through the memories of the Once-ler. This POV adds a sort of realism to the story, that yes there was this wonderful place that was ruined by the Once-ler’s greed. The ending of the story sends a pivotal message that we have the ability to protect the environment and that if we don’t than no one will.

Here is the book trailer for The Lorax Pop-up book. It is just gorgeous. I will need to go buy it.

Here is the movie trailer. Okay, I am dying to see this movie. Too bad its PG and my kids aren’t old enough yet. Doh!

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

24 Comments to “The Lorax”

  1. I just knew someone would review Dr Seus’ The Lorax, with it opening this week. Such a great book. Love the trailers. It does sound like a great movie. I know the lines will be long for this one. Great choice for our PPB.

    • yup. i am just waiting to see how many others decided to review it this week. curious to see the public’s response to the movie. i have to admit the lorax didn’t enter my radar until i saw morninglight mama’s posts.

  2. I knew Seuss was going to figure high on the list today, what with it being his birthday! 🙂 Do you know, I’ve never read The Lorax? I kind of can’t believe it. I will certainly have to. How amazing that Dr. Seuss was onto the whole environmental thing before it was really a concern! I, too, am looking forward to the movie (thanks to my kids who are old enough for PG :)), but I will definitely read the book first! Thanks for sharing another Seuss masterpiece!

  3. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I want to see the movie!! You have written a great review! Happy Dr. Suess’ Birthday! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Erik

  4. He was such a profound and proactive author as well as a genius at story and rhyme. Thanks for this review, Dar. I sure look forward to the movie.

  5. I love Dr. Seuss books. I haven’t read this one in years. I’ll have to check it out next time I go to the library. Thanks for the great review.

  6. So glad to see another Seuss collection, and this one is one of our favorites. Although, can you believe, Seuss fan that I am, I never read it until I had my own kids???

  7. I’ve not (yet) read The Lorax. I must remedy that. (Somehow I have the feeling that the library’s copies will be all out, because of the movie’s release… but I’ll check!) I’m impressed that Dr. Seuss was so ahead of his time in environmental concern. (Have you read The Butter Battle Book? That’s one of my favorite Seusses.)

    • You won’t know if you don’t check. I was able to get this book just last week from the library. Thanks for the book recommendation, haven’t read it.

  8. Love the book, love the trailers…mmm I thought PG was okay to take a child of any age as long as it is with a parent. At least thats how we read it here. Timeless!! Thanks for sharing.

    • I think my 6 year old will be able to appreciate and understand the movie. However, I don’t think my 4 year old will sit through anything that isn’t Mickey Mouse or Princessy.

  9. I have to admit, I haven’t read this one. I guess I will have to find it, since it’s the Read Across America theme book as well.

  10. It’s a great book, great message. I do love all things Seussian however. I guess that’s mandatory for all Massachusetts residents who attended school here! Enjoy the movie!

  11. So glad to see the original is getting the notice it deserves on the opening day of the movie. Dr. Seuss was a man before his time in so many ways.

  12. Great review! Thanks for sharing a Dr. Seuss book. I need to read it again!

  13. It is a great story with a great message. I feel like there was an animated version of the book when I was a child- something they would show on rainy days in school or Sunday nights. Or, maybe it was just the book I saw…. Fuzzy memories, but anyway, we also can’t wait to see the movie!
    A2ZMommy and What’s In Between

  14. I love the message behind the story. I look forward to reading it. Many of Dr. Seuss’ books are above my son’s “sit still level,” but we have many on our shelf ready for when he is ready.

  15. No One out grows a Dr Seuss book. This is fabulous and awesome. Definitely on my list come high or low water. I’m going to see the movie. Hopefully with my grandson on spring break. 🙂

  16. I haven’t read The Lorax, either! The previews look pretty awesome, though, and I know my kids want to see it. Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

  17. Super post, my 3yr old loves the video.

  18. The Lorax is another great Dr. Seuss book! Gregory K over at Gotta Book did a funny parody of it. If you enjoy that sort of thing it’s here http://gottabook.blogspot.com/2012/03/lorax-oddaptation-re-issue.html

  19. Great review, Darshana!
    I especially love that you included the trailer for the pop-up book…I am in love with pop-up books and will have to see if I can get a copy.