The Perfect Percival Priggs – plus Giveaway!

percivalTitle: The Perfect Percival Priggs
Author & Illustrator: Julie-Anne Graham

Publisher: Running Press Kids, 2015
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: 4-7
Themes: Unconditional love, Individuality

Opening Lines:

Percival Priggs was perfect.
His parents were perfect.
His grandparents were perfect.
Even his pets were perfect.

 

Synopsis (from Amazon website):

Percival Priggs wants to be the perfect child in order to please his seemingly perfect parents.
But even when Percy gets his family into a mess of a situation, his parents’ love for him remains absolute perfection.

 

Activities:

  • Activity Guide – discussion questions, coloring sheets, games, and more.

 

Why I Like This Book:

A delightful book with a quirky cast of characters in a sweet story about pursuing the things you love and not having to be perfect at it with a dollop of unconditional family love. Perfect story for kids who too often notice the trophy/prize someone has won without realizing the hard work and failures that came prior.

The art shines brightly in this book. Check-out the trophy shelf below. Unfortunately, Percival doesn’t enjoy most of his activities they are b-o-r-i-n-g, which most young readers will likely agree with.

priggs_trophy

One day Percival comes up with an ingenious plan to finish his to-do list faster. Unfortunately, his plan literally blows up and creates havoc in the household. This is where the unconditional loves comes in, but wait this isn’t the end of the story. Now we find out all about the parents’ past failures. It’s a real treat, sorry no hints.

priggs_love

Since the charm of the book is in the detailed art, probably not a good book for story time but definitely one to keep in a home or classroom library.

 

Giveaway:

For a chance to win this book, let us know your quirky talent in the comments below. (my quirky talent is i can catch spiders) Deadline to enter is Thursday, October 1st at 9pm PST. Contest is only open to residents of the U.S. and Canada.

 

Find The Perfect Percival Priggs at the following spots:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Goodreads
ISBN-10: 0762455063
ISBN-13: 978-0762455065

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

Disclosure: I received my copy of this book from the publisher Running Press Kids. This review nevertheless reflects my own and honest opinion about the book.

 

12 Comments to “The Perfect Percival Priggs – plus Giveaway!”

  1. Very cool book! 🙂 My quirky talent is that I can lift each eyebrow separately. This makes for a great “whammy look” according to my kids! 😀

  2. I really like your choice. The illustrations DO make this important story.

  3. So much quirk, this looks great! I’m a great pooper-scooper!

  4. The illos look like so much fun – will definitely look for this one – thanks, Darshana!

  5. Clever story line! My quirk (not sure it’s a talent!) is loving ‘boring’ chores like raking, mowing & shoveling.

  6. Love the glasses on these people. Very cool design elements. Hmmmm. My quirky talent? Without having to actually see him, I know when my son enters or leaves a room. I can “feel” the air disturbance. 😀

  7. Love the illustrations in this book. My quirky talent is that I can recognize what is going far away from me inside or outside the house by listening to the sounds.

  8. This is such a great sounding book. I love the illustrations and I am drawn to quirky characters. My quirky talent is that I can wiggle my ears. 🙂

  9. Oh, this looks like a fun book! The thing I notice with author-illustrators is that they can really tell much of the story in the pictures. My quirky talent:I can write backwards with my left hand.

  10. This book looks like one I will enjoy. Perfectionism runs rampant. (and I’m too late for the giveaway, I know, but I’m catching up!)

  11. The winner of the giveaway is Sue Heavenrich!

Leave a Reply

