Stick and Stone – plus Giveaway!

Stick and StoneTitle: Stick and Stone

Author: Beth Ferry
Illustrator: Tom Lichtenheld
Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: 3-6
Themes: Friendship

Opening Lines:

“Stick. Stone.
Lonely. Alone.
A zero. A one.
Alone is no fun.”

Synopsis (from Amazon website):

When Stick rescues Stone from a prickly situation with a Pinecone, the pair becomes fast friends. But when Stick gets stuck, can Stone return the favor?
Author Beth Ferry makes a memorable debut with a warm, rhyming text that includes a subtle anti-bullying message even the youngest reader will understand. New York Times bestselling illustrator Tom Lichtenheld imbues Stick and Stone with energy, emotion, and personality to spare.

Activities:

  • Activity Kit including circle-time games, printable (friendship bracelets, drawing, maze)
  • Classroom lesson for on anti-bullying using the rhyme “sticks and stones can …”
  • Another anti-bullying lesson plan.

 

Why I Like This Book:

A heartwarming friendship story between a stick and a stone. It is amazing what Ms. Ferry has achieved in only 139 words and in rhyme. It’s a simple story of finding a friend, losing a friend, and finding them again. The story is filled with loads of good things we want our kids to see such as compassion and loyalty, and the joys of friendship. Kids will enjoy seeing how Stick and Stone play together and Stone’s superb way for saving Stick.

As a writer, I like the short one word sentences in the beginning spreads that help convey the isolation each character is feeling. Sort of like two parallel stories that come together. Whereas later when the duo are together the author uses a comma “Stick, Stone”. Subtle but poignant.

Mr. Lichtenheld’s endearing child-like pencil and watercolor illustrations heighten the emotion of the author’s sparse text. I remember pausing and feeling the character’s loneliness the first time I saw this spread.

stickstone_4

 

Here is the scene where the two become friends after Stick sticks up for Stone. I love their silly smiles. I have yet to figure out what makes these characters so child-like but I love it.

stickstone_1

 

Love this art, totally feeling the scariness here.

stickstone_2

 

The three-panel spread (on the left) is brilliant in heightening the emotion. I love the increasing size and jitteriness of the text as Stone calls out for Stick.

stickstone_3

 

This book is perfect for lap-reading at home or for use in preschool storytime.

Checkout my interview with Beth Ferry!

Giveaway:

For a chance to win this book, leave a comment. Deadline to enter is Thursday, April 16th at 9pm PST.

Here is a short trailer of this charming book.

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

STICK AND STONE. Copyright © 2015. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

39 Comments to “Stick and Stone – plus Giveaway!”

  1. Great teamwork between Beth Perry and Tom Lichtenheld. Great story about friendship. Lichtenheld’s illustrations are always wonderful and bring the story alive. Loved the trailer.

  2. Forwarding this to our guidance counselor because I think this would be a good lesson for our classes.

  3. Kathy Mazurowski
    Can’t wait to read the whole book! Thanks for the post.

  4. Thank you for your thoughtful review of our book. Like you, I was immediately taken in by Beth’s spare, yet rich, text. She managed to say so much with so few words, and I was honored to be given the job of matching her brevity with my pictures.

  5. This looks intriguing – both the story and the art. Thanks for pointing out the 3-panel bit with increasing text size (and it looks like increasing width of panel?) ~ similar to the role music plays in a movie; it sets the mood.

  6. Love the simplicity of the text and way the illustrations complement the message.

  7. I really like the book trailer. The story and art work so well together.

  8. Wow so clever! Can’t wait to read this x

  9. Looks terrific! Lucky for a debut author to have Lichtenheld illustrate, but this text is very inviting!

  10. It looks adorable. I will check it out!

  11. Addresses a range of emotions through words and pictures. A perfect match.

  12. Waving to Beth Ferry — Talented Conference Friends like you is why I miss New York and New Jersey so much! Can’t wait to read your book!

  13. What! This looks so cute, I have to read this. I know I’m repeating what everyone already said, but I LOVE the artwork. The illustrations are fantastic.

  14. Oh, does this look FABULOUS. Totally wanna win it – thanks for adding this to the list! Requesting it from my library. 🙂

  15. Win, win, win. It will be a win to win or to buy!

  16. I can’t wait to read this to my preschoolers! What a beautiful book – both in words and pictures.

  17. Thank you for all the positive comments. I have to agree – Tom’s artwork is sublime. Who else could make a Stick and a Stone so huggable?

  18. I saw this book at our Scholastic Book Fair last week, and instantly fell in love with it. It’s really a brilliant fusion of meaningful text and illustrations.

  19. I love how this book sounds. Great review. can’t wait to read it!

  20. I love everything about this and I haven’t even read it yet! Great concept! Love the illustrations and it rhymes!

  21. Can’t wait to read the whole book. Great artwork as usual. Congratulations, Beth.

  22. Love this book–have checked it out at our library already! Congratulations to Beth!

  23. Such an original concept from a timeless verse turned into rhyme. Great illustrations, too. I’d love a copy. 🙂

  24. I had the honor of hearing Tom Lichtenheld talk about this book at the CCIRA conference in Denver. As a former competitive diver, I love the “perfect 10” ending.

  25. I’m loving this book already, and I haven’t read it yet.

  26. This is certainly a cute story. Illustration adorable and amazing story through sparce text. Brilliant!

  27. I absolutely love this book. Can’t wait for your interview with Beth Ferry.

  28. Looking forward to this one. I love PB inanimate objects done well.

  29. Oh, I am looking forward to reading this one. I’m so glad you shared it with us.

  30. A delightful new book to look forward to reading. The illustrations are great; the brevity of the text illustrates how effective this can be. Thanks for highlighting this story!

  31. Oooo! I would love a chance to win this book! I love the concept, look forward to reading the story (it’s been on my “to-read” list), and love Tom’s art in all of his books. Thanks for highlighting this book, Darshana.

  32. Oh, adorable, and with my favorite illustrator of all time, Tom Lichtenheld. What a perfect picture book!

  33. This book is one of my favorites. I had the opportunity to read it over the weekend. I fell in love with both characters right from the beginning.

  34. I’m so excited to read this book…it looks like a touching tale of friendship!

  35. This book sounds like a wonderful addition to our home library!

  36. What a charming book.I would thoroughly enjoy reading it to my children of all ages. Even the teens!

  37. Beth, I’m getting such pleasure out of seeing your smiling face AND your STICK & STONE all over the place! It was long in coming, but so worth the wait! 😀 Thanks for the great interview, ladies 🙂 I love hearing additional details about the whole journey 🙂

  38. I meant “review”! I get so confused lol

Leave a Reply

