Tap to Play

Tap to Play

Title: Tap to Play
Author & Illustrator: Salina Yoon

Publisher: Balzer & Bray, 2014
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: 2-6
Themes: Interactive, Cause & Effect

Opening Lines:

Hi!
I’m BLIP.
I need to reach that bar to win the game.
Can you help me?

How do I get from HERE to THERE?

If I win, I get a
SURPRISE!

Synopsis (from Amazon website):

In this interactive video-game-inspired picture book perfect for fans of Press Here and Tap the Magic Tree, Blip needs to reach the bar to win his game—but he needs the reader’s help. If he wins, he gets a surprise!
Tap, tickle, and shake Blip.
Tilt, turn, and bounce Blip.
Help Blip win the game in this spirited interactive book, perfect for reading—and playing—again and again!

Activities:

Why I Like This Book:

First there was PRESS HERE which expanded the boundaries of interactive books in a new way for today techno-gadget babies. Then came TAP THE MAGIC TREE which built upon the interactivity but added concepts about the seasons. Ms. Salina Yoon is taking us even further down this path by blending a traditional story arc with the interactivity for a video-game inspired story.

Blip our main character has to get from HERE to THERE, but how. The number bar tells the reader they have five attempts to win the game and get their surprise! Readers will bounce, tilt, and flip, BLIP to comical results. Rest assured Blip and the ingenious reader will win the game and get a special, heartfelt surprise in the end.

My favorite aspect of the book were the funny responses from Blip when the action didn’t go quite right. They just made me chuckle. Here is one example.

Could you shake the book so I can bounce?
Go ahead. Shake!
<page turn>
NOT SO FAST!
Bounce it slower please!

Here is another from when the tilting is a bit too much.

TAPSPREAD.1

Enjoy the trailer! Shhh…..The retro music makes me want to go play Pac-Man or Q*bert.

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

Disclosure: I received a F&G (fold and gather, not bound) copy of this story from the author. This review nevertheless reflects my own and honest opinion about the book.

Tags:

10 Comments to “Tap to Play”

  1. What a really creative idea for a book. I love that it is interactive so that kids can help Blip win. Kids are just going to have a “blip” with this book.

  2. Great review Darshana. Last weekend, Salina read this to us during one of her workshops at RMC-SCBWI. It’s a cute book and I look forward to my kiddo reading and helping Blip out!

  3. I need to get my hands on this one.

  4. I liked Tap the Magic Tree more than I thought I would. This sounds like it would be fun for a slightly older reader than “Magic Tree.” I know my boys would love it. Thanks.

  5. Very cool book, Darshana. Loved the interative ideas. Trailer was fun too.

  6. this looks like more fun than a real video game!

  7. This looks like a fin one, Darshana. I love Tap The Magic Tree – that is my favorite of these type of interactive books so far – but I haven’t read this one yet 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

  8. What a great idea. Looks like one kids will love (and that means this kid, too!) 🙂

  9. Wow, publishers are really getting on the Press Here bandwagon! I guess there’s room for more versions of this in the marketplace.

Leave a Reply

