Cybils 2012

Q: What are the Cybils Awards?

The Cybils Awards are for children’s and young-adult books recognized as has having the highest literary merit and “kid appeal” by the book blogging community.

Anyone can nominate a book. There are a number of categories such as Picture Book, Middle-Grade, YA Fiction, Poetry, Ebook Apps, etc. Nominations are open from Oct 1st – Oct 15th. I will post again with links to this year’s nominations page.

The Round 1 judges come up with a shortlist of finalists by January 1, 2013, and the Round 2 judges review the picture books and chose the winner which will be announced on February 14, 2013.

To see winners from 2011 click here.

Q:Why I am excited about this?

Last year’s experience as a Round 1 judge for Early Reader/Chapter Books was an amazing experience on many different levels, learning more about the category, discussing books with other literacy professionals. I applied again this year and feel very honored to be picked as a Round 2 Judge for the Fiction Picture Books category !!! I am soooo excited, this is like a dream for me. As a Round 2 judge my job doesn’t technically start until January, but you can count on me to review my favorite picture books until I have to go into quiet mode. Please visit the awesome blogs of my fellow judges for Fiction Picture Books.

Round 1 Judges

Laura Given          Blog: LibLaura5 
Travis Jonker       Blog: 100 Scope Notes
Julie Jurgens        Blog: Hi Miss Julie!
Rebecca Reid        Blog: Rebecca Reads
Cheryl Sadler        Blog: Picture Book Lunchables
Danielle Smith      Blog: There’s a Book
Aaron Zenz            Blog: Bookie Woogie

Round 2 Judges (that’s me!)

Myra Bacsal          Blog: Gathering Books
Darshana Khiani  Blog: Flowering Minds
Joanna Marple     Blog: Miss Marple’s Musings 
Dawn Mooney      Blog: 5 Minutes for Books
Jen Robinson       Blog: Jen Robinson’s Book Page 

Fiction Picture Books Chair – Pam Coughlan    Blog: MotherReader

We are looking forward to seeing what books you nominate, so start making your lists as nominations open October 1st!

13 Comments to “Cybils 2012”

  1. What a fabulous opportunity, Darshana! It sounds really interesting! Maybe next year I’ll get it together to apply – I would love to read all those picture books! 🙂

  2. First the “I’m Bored” winner and now this! You’ve had a full day, my dear! Congratulations Judge! I’m not familiar, so I’d like to know, are the book reviews going to be posted before the winner is announced? I’d love to read the reviews. I’m glad I found out about this. I’ll be following along.

    • Thanks! Yes it has been an exciting day. Through the Cybils season Oct thru Dec, judges will be reading and reviewing books on their blogs. The shortlist is announced on Jan 1st, after that Round 2 judges will be discussing the books but no longer posting anything about the shortlisted titles until after Feb 14 when the winners are announced. I highly recommend checking out the blogs of the other judges in this category and the others, they are pretty awesome. You can find more info on the Cybils at their website: http://www.cybils.com

  3. This is the first time I heard of this award and am interested in seeing further links for it. Thanks for sharing. Like Susanna next year I might get it together to submit to being a judge. Seems like one would learn a lot. 🙂

  4. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see what books are nominated and make it thru the promise. I’m not going to sugar-coat this, though: while I adored ME, JANE…I didn’t think it should have won for “fiction” last year. But that’s a whole debate that’s too late…! LOL

    • Thanks Tara. I know hopefully there won’t be any situations like that this year. Though it seems that the trend in non-fiction pb is to look more like fiction pbs.

  5. Congratulations, Darshana! Sounds like a fun position to read all these books! How neat that two 12x12ers are on the panel!

  6. What an honor, Darshana. Congratulations! You are the picture book review expert. What a great way to read the top notch picture books.

Leave a Reply

