12×12 – May Update

So did I get a draft done for May?

Short answer: No

Long answer: Normally my first draft are like skeletons. Just a story arc but not much character development or writing style to show. My stories are typically short, humorous or with a twist. But I wanted my May draft to be quiet, emotional, and eventually maybe even poetic. The story was inspired by my girls experience of watching two ducklings raised at school (waiting for the eggs to hatch, watching the ducklings grow, to the sadness of when they left for they farm). I got half way through the story when I realized I didn’t have the faintest clue about how a person takes care of a duckling nor how the children bonded with the ducks. What to do … RESEARCH! I am in the process of interviewing several staff members at my kids’ school about the duckling experience. This is new territory for me as I am a bit on the introverted side, unless the topic is something I am passionate about. My June goal is to finish the interviews and the first draft.

What else did I do in Mayinterviewed fellow 12x12er Joanna Marple about her new book Snow Games (must check out if you haven’t), submitted a pitch to Susanna Hill’s “Would You Read It” Series, attended SCBWI NorCal’s Illustrator’s Day which was jam-packed with useful information, guest blogged for the Tuesday 12×12 series, and I did squeeze in a re-submit of my Feb 12×12 draft to Rate Your Story. Keeping my fingers crossed for a top score so I can do a conference submit to an editor from Illustrator’s Day.

Oops, almost forgot. I took the plunge and I am now a Twit. 🙂 You can follow me on Twitter at @darshanakhiani .

So what’s on tap for June:

  1. Finish interviews and my May draft.
  2. Taking Anastasia Suen’s Intensive Picture Book Workshop #1-6
  3. Listening in on “Teacher’s Write” Virtual Summer Writing Camp by Kate Messener

Seems like a fairly full schedule to me.

Lastly, here is a pic of what is currently on my TBR shelf. (click on picture for a larger version)

Which of these books would you like to hear more about ?

22 Comments to “12×12 – May Update”

  1. I love seeing your to be read shelf! My vote would be for Edgar Allen Poe’s Pie- love the title! And I will be one of your fellow participants in Kate Messner’s class- can’t wait!

    • Thanks Stacey! Looking forward to Kate’s class. The Edgar book is fairly interesting, a bunch of math word problems written in prose. Makes me want to break out my pen and paper to solve them.

  2. What a great month you’ve had, Darshana. Good luck with the interviews and see you on Twitter!

  3. Love the idea of your duckling story. Wow, you achieved so much this month, I am well impressed. I’d love a review on Puzzled by Pink. I have written a PB on a similar theme, and I am trying to see if it converts well into a chapter book. Good luck with June!

  4. I’d say you’ve had a very successful May and June sounds like tons of fun! I would be very interested to hear how you like Anastasia’s class! Even with my glasses on I can’t read ALL the titles, but Around The World On Eighty Legs and Cows To The Rescue sound pretty interesting 🙂 And you already know I LOVE The Camel Who Took A Walk! 🙂

    • Thanks Susanna. Yes I am excited for Anastasia’s class. I’ll use a bigger pic next time. If you click on the pic you will get a slightly bigger version. Thanks for the books suggestions.

  5. Hey at least you got some done! 🙂 I would like to see “Around the World On Eighty Legs” – it sounds funny! 😀

  6. I love this feature! I’d like to hear your take on “Say Hello to Zorro” – mostly because my son and I have been reading it and I can’t decide what my opinion is yet! 🙂

  7. Make that 3 takers on Around the world on Eighty legs…. sounds interesting…
    Congrats on your accomplishments for May, I to got stuck with my May ms… still trying to finish it. Love to hear more about Anastasia’s class.

  8. Nonfiction Monday just offered this duck book: http://ncteacherstuff.blogspot.com/2012/06/nonfiction-monday-just-ducks.html Just Ducks, author: Nicola Davies,illustrator: Salvatore Rubbino From the Candlewick site:
    The young girl in this story may live in the city, but outside her window there’s a river full of mallard ducks! She hears them as soon as she wakes up, and on the way to school she sees them upside down bobbing for food. Interspersed with fun facts, her enthusiastic commentary about her feathered neighbors – what they look like, how they behave, where they nest, where they sleep – pairs swimmingly with cheerful watercolor illustrations.

    A young girl shares her observations about the mallards near her house in an engaging, informative story sure to make a splash with duck lovers Oh dear, WordPress is being wonky and my gravatar is blocking the box. Bets of luck with your June 12 x 12! Wish I could see what I am typing….argh!

  9. You’ve been busy!

    I love ducks. I have three that hang out in my yard with my cats. They used to lay eggs by my front door. We live in Fl. on a canal.

    In answer to your question… One Grain of Rice:)

    • Hi Krista,
      Thanks for stopping by. Did they leave a lot of poop? That was the one funny thing the teachers told me, they were amazed at how much poop the two ducks generated.
      I love One Grain of Rice, working on the review already!

    • Lots and lots of poop! They love fresh water so I place two bowls on my lawn in order to keep them off my porch. They sit in the shade of my loquat tree with their water and nap all day.

  10. Krista, Too funny! Check out today’s review of One Grain of Rice.

  11. I love this post…such a great idea to review the things you hoped to do in the past month…and then list (for all to see) those you hope to accomplish for the next month. What a busy and productive month you’ve had…I must find the time to get over to “rate your story” and see what they are all about. I know there is always time to do the things that are really important to us…I just need to find a way how to do that. (maybe stop doing the things that are not really important!) 🙂
    Thank you so much for sharing, Darshana…you have definitely inspired me!

Leave a Reply

