Snow Games

Title: Snow Games

Author: Joanna Marple
Illustrator: Maja Sereda
Publisher: uTales, May 2012
Book Type: Ebook Fiction
Ages: 2-5
Themes: Animals, Winter Activities, Rhyming
Opening Lines:
“On a crisp, frosty mid-winter’s day,
the woodland youngsters ran out to play.

The first game that popped into squirrel’s head
was to slide down a hill on a homemade sled.
Bear charged forth and crashed down the slope,
on a sled from boughs tied together with rope.”

Synopsis (from uTales website):

The woodland winter games are underway. But, faced with Bear’s strength, Squirrel’s speed and Owl’s self confidence, what is a wee mouse to do?

Why I Like This Book:

A wonderful tale of four cuddly animals having fun in the winter. Each animal the Bear, Squirrel, and Owl have their own special talents, while itty-bitty mouse wonders how he can possibly compete or even win an event. As with any well-crafted story, the author does a superb job with the ending, showing little readers everywhere that you can be small and still do something big.

The rhyming text and soft hued, hand-drawn like illustrations lend a warmth of friendship to the winter games story. Some of my favorites are the sleds being made made out of items from the woods and the child-like animal expressions. So sit down with a cup of hot cocoa, cuddle up with your kids, and enjoy this simple, lovely tale which may even bring back a bit of nostalgia.

About uTales:

uTales is an eBook platform providing a library of great books for young readers. Books can be read on a computer, iPhone, or iPad. I think is a great compliment to hardcover picture books. Often times I would like to read my kids books while we are out an about. I am not about to lug the picture books (which are from the library, and I am afraid of losing) but I do have my iPhone. Currently uTales is offering a $4.99 monthly subscription plan, so I recommend you go check it out. Most eBooks on the site do offer a sample reading (~first 8 pages), you can also sign-up for a free 15-day trial with full access.

Want to learn more about uTales, come back tomorrow and join us for a wonderful interview with author Joanna Marple and learn about her experience in creating Snow Games, her first book.

Update: Link to interview with Joanna Marple.

Tags:

18 Comments to “Snow Games”

  1. Snow Games is the first uTales book I’ve ever bought, and it is delightful. I can hardly wait for your interview with Joanna!

    • If it hadn’t been for Snow Games I probably wouldn’t have signed up with uTales or even consider the idea of publishing with them.

  2. Hurray! An interview is coming, an interview is coming!! Great review, too. ;-D

  3. That book cover is so adorable!!! Love the review Darshana! Looking forward to Joanna’s interview.

  4. Great review Darshana! Maja’s illustrations are wonderful. Have read Joanna’s book. The story is fun with a great message. Kids will have fun with the story. Look forward to your interview with Joanna!

  5. Such a great review of Joanna’s lovely book, Darshana! Much more articulate than I could have been, but exactly what i would have tried to say 🙂

  6. thanks for this review! I’m planning on buying some ebooks for my kids, especially for road trips and going on vacation…I’m looking forward to the interview as I’m curious about the process and have thought about writing one too!

  7. Oh what a lovely review of Joanna’s book Darshana. I love the book, it’s message and beautiful illustrations. Looking forward to your interview with Joanna.

  8. Lovely review, I just adore this illustrations! Off to get my uTales subscription! 😀

  9. I was so surprised by the delightful presentation of Joanna’s book. Her experience sounds fantastic, especially the relationship she shares with Maja, and her support for Pencils of Promise. Traditional publishers told me I’d have to relinquish my illustrator, if I accepted their terms, and few would have encouraged the nonprofits I do. It’s rewarding to make these very important choices for your own works. Way to go, Joanna and Maja for joining up with uTales – obviously an excellant idea! Best wishes for continued success, and your teamwork to create more wonderful books!

  10. Thanks so much, Darshana…I knew nothing about uTales…and I will have to check them out. Also, wonderful review of Joanna’s book…it is lovely, isn’t it. 🙂

  11. And the interview was really informative…thanks Darshana and Joanna. 🙂

  12. I’m looking forward to the interview, Darshana!

Leave a Reply

