12×12- April Update

Okay, I am keeping up with the 12×12 challenge, barely. I did get a first draft done for April. (shhh .. don’t tell anyone I just finished it today, didn’t help that I started it yesterday. I know cutting it close to the wire again.) So four months into the 12×12 challenge and I have done three drafts, not bad considering I only did two drafts last year.

Yes, I am moving at a snail’s pace. The good thing is I seem to be learning something. In January, I sent an older manuscript to Rate Your Story (RYS) and got a 7. This past month I sent my February 12×12 draft, after two rounds of critiques, and guess what I got a 4! Woo-hoo, I am doing the jiggy-jiggy dance, and motivated to get this piece into submission quality.

I am realizing that the only way I will accomplish my writing goals is by stating them publicly. Here is my list for May 2012.

  1. Write a 12×12 draft by May 17th.
  2. Revise Feb 12×12 draft and re-send to Rate Your Story.

I know it isn’t much but I also have to factor in 4 PPBF book reviews, a blog post for the Tuesday 12×12 series (no idea what to write for this), critiques, my husband’s birthday, work, kids … you get the picture.

Before I forget my pitch is up for critique as part of Susanna Hill’s “Would You Read It Series”. So please stop by and leave a comment.

Lastly, here is a pic of what is currently on my TBR shelf.

14 Comments to “12×12- April Update”

  1. Good for you getting the April ms done! You are up on me, I still have not got around to sending my ms’s off to Rate your Story. I intend to send them this month for sure. So that’s one of my goals for May along with completing another ms draft.

  2. Well, we all know about the hare and the snail, or was it a tortoise? I guess the goal of 12×12 is not simply 12 new manuscripts by the end of the year, but that in writing regularly and participating in this wonderful community, we are honing our craft and it certainly sounds like you are doing that, Dar!!

  3. YAY for getting your April book done 🙂 I’m going to check out your pitch!

  4. Sounds like you’re doing great, Darshana! I echo Joanna’s thoughts. And I see a book I know very well on your shelf 🙂

  5. I agree with Joanna and Susanna. I think you do what you can do to write regularly. If I write 3-4 really good manuscripts out of all of my ideas by the end of the year, I’ll be happy.

  6. Thanks for stopping by, you all are the best. I love the support of the kidlit world.

  7. It’s great that you are even doing it, we are all juggling things, well done and keep at it. I haven’t sent anything to rate Your Story yet, I might just do that, thanks!

    • Catherine – I highly recommend trying out the service. Both times they were able to give me feedback which has improved my writing.

  8. Add me to the echoing chorus of “you’re doing well!” I’m going to have trouble keeping up to 12×12 in the next three months, as I will be focusing on middle grade and chapter books in preparation for my time at Stony Brook Southampton. I realized today I may have to let the picture books slide for a couple of months to do what I need to do.

    My mantra for years has been “do what you can and let go of the rest” — you’re doing great!

  9. Sounds like you have a lot going on — but you are doing really great! Looking forward to reading your April MS.

    • Thanks Margaret. It might be a while, my first drafts are usually pretty bad. Luckily the stories do get better with each revision.

  10. You and I finished at near the same time (finished in the loose sense). I typed the ending word, but it’s not done, so much as started. Good luck with your May manuscript!

Leave a Reply

