The Monster at the End of this Book

Title: The Monster at the End of this Book

Author: Jon Stone

Illustrator: Michael Smollin

Publisher: Golden Books, 1971

Ages: 3-5

Themes: Fear, Humor, Interactive

Opening Sentences:

WHAT DID THAT SAY?

On the first page, what did that say? Did that say there will be a Monster at the end of this book???

IT DID? Oh, I am so scared of Monsters !!!

Synopsis:

Grover comes up with innovative ways to beg the reader to not turn the page, for there is a MONSTER at the end of this book.

Why I Like This Book:

First all I must have been living out in the boonies when I was a child. I only learned of this book a few months ago as a number of kidlit folks (authors, librarians) have listed this book as one of their childhood favorites or the book they often gift. It has now become one of my go to gift for young kids.

This is one hilarious book, perfect for story time or lap-time reading. It is a blast to read out loud; who doesn’t love exaggerating when it elicits a laugh or two out those precious little kids. Kids reading it on their own will enjoy the interactivity of the book. In the narrative, Grover is talking to the reader. He tries to convince the reader or “prevent” them from not turning the page. Once the page is turned, the reader is rewarded with Grover’s theatrics about getting closer to the monster at the end of this book. The ending will delight the reader as it confirms what he already knows, which is that Grover is the Monster.

I love how the text and illustrations wonderfully convey Grover’s over the top antics. He is a bit of a drama queen. This book is also available as a book app. I just downloaded and it is even better than the book, as it heightens the hilarity of the whole situation. I can’t wait to show my kids the app this weekend. There is also a sequel book and book app called “Another Monster at the End of this Book“.

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

22 Comments to “The Monster at the End of this Book”

  1. Oh my, just reading the review made me smile, let alone reading the book! I guess I must join the boonie-livers, because I hadn’t heard of it!

  2. I LOVE this book! What a great choice! Thanks so much for sharing it, Darshana 🙂 Were you able to think up any activities to go with it?

    • Sorry Susan. I scoured the Internet can couldn’t find anything. Then I tried to brainstorm and no luck. If I do come up with something, I will update the blog post. This just a fun book to do dramatic reading or acting with.

  3. HA HA!! Great minds think alike!! I did this book today too 🙂 You review is great and I really like the app too. My little sister likes how it reads along with the story.

  4. Don’t worry, Darshana, you’re not alone – I actually DID live in the boonies with nary a Big Bird to call my own, so this book is new to me, too. Love the “drama queen” thing. 🙂

  5. Oh yes – this book was a HUGE hit with my kids!

    What I learned: If you read the book out loud the first time using a high pitched, scruffly Grover voice, your children will DEMAND that you read it the same way EVERY TIME and you wish completely regret your first reading within five minutes!

    How Frank Oz managed it day in and day out, I will never know!

    Bet of all, there is a sequel titled “Another Monster At The End of This Book.” Can you guess who joins Grover?? ;-D

  6. *will

    Although ‘wish’ was my parallel thinking track LOL

  7. Nice review! I don’t have little ones at home to share with, but I pass the apps on to my nieces and nephews for their children. And actually, besides have around 30 library books in my possession at all times, I have numerous book apps on my iPhone and iPad for my entertainment. I can’t wait to read this book.

    • You have 30 books with you at all times! That is pretty cool. I tried keeping books in the cars for my kids, but my younger one gets car sick then.

  8. This is one of my all-time favorites from when I was a child. I love this book. Thanks for spotlighting it.

  9. Ohhhh, Grover is my favorite monster! (But I, too, was unaware of this book.) I must get the app, just for my own enjoyment!

    Thanks, Darshana!

  10. Thanks for the review and book app information! Great share 🙂

  11. I have never read this book, and am not familar with Grover. But, I love the plot of this story. What fun! I think I steal a peek at the back of the book first — I am terrible because I can’t wait. Thanks for sharing.

  12. I could not agree more that the app improves upon the book. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to say that about any app before either. Great choice!

  13. This was one of MY favorite books as a kid. What a great idea to include something from our childhood! 🙂

  14. I never knew about this book as a kid either — but got it for my kids a few months ago. It IS a really fun read! I’ll have to check out the app — thanks for the recommendation.

  15. Oh this was a well-worn, well-loved book in my family! Growing up as one of seven kids meant we didn’t have extra money floating around, but I guess the Little Golden Books must have been in the budget! This and The Poky Little Puppy were my favorites. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  16. Thank you, Darshana! I love books with funny monsters…especially helpful when kids have fears about them. I know all about Grover…well, obviously, not all about him…as I didn’t know about this book. 🙂

  17. I loved, loved, loved this book when I was a kid! Great choice 🙂

  18. I’m going to check out the app. It’s fun that you and Erik came up with the same title. I wondered when that would happen. Have a great weekend.

  19. Darshana,
    I awarded you a Liebster Blog Award. It’s listed on my site: http://childrensbooksheal.com/2012/02/05/liebster-blog-award/.

    Warmly,

    Pat

Leave a Reply

