What makes a Great Easy Reader?

One of my fellow Cybils’ judges, Katie Ahearn, is a children’s librarian; an avid reader and book blogger. I love reading her posts for her critical insights on children’s books. Hope you find her analysis as useful as I have!

Five Characteristics of Great Easy Readers

The finalists for the 2011 Cybils were announced on Sunday, and among them were the five chapter books and four easy readers chosen by the first-round panelists in the Easy Reader/Early Chapter Book Category, of which I was one. Since I have now officially come to the end of my Cybils duties for this year, I thought it would be a good time to reflect on what I’ve taken away from the experience, and what I have learned about easy readers and chapter books. Today, I’ll discuss what makes a great easy reader, and tomorrow, I’ll do the same for chapter books.

Read more at Secrets & Sharing Soda: Five Characteristics of Great Easy Readers.

5 Comments to “What makes a Great Easy Reader?”

  1. I LOVED Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie! I also really like anything by Mo Willems, he’s so funny!

  2. I love hearing more about the judges’ experiences. Thank you.

  3. Congrats for taking on the challenges of being a Cyblis judge – all the picture books and chapter books that y’all read!!

    It’s great to see which books get the nod from knowledgeable book bloggers, rather than which ones have the biggest publishers’ promotional budget.
    (found you through MotherReader & Lee Wind’s Comment Challenge)

Leave a Reply

