Cybils 2011 Finalists

The new year has started and for all you kidlit lovers here is the moment you have been waiting for, the 2011 Cybils finalists. Check out the lists to see what books were picked as having great writing and kid-appeal.

This was my first year judging and they weren’t kidding. It’s a lot of work but a great experience as well. I would like to thank all my fellow Round 1 judges in the Early Reader/Early Chapter Category. You are all great reviewers and bloggers; I learned how to be a more critical reviewer and will hopefully be a better writer as a result. Thanks for your input, lengthy emails, and debates. I wish you all the best in your bookish endeavours.

Without further ado below are the finalists for the Early Reader/Early Chapter books. Click here to read why we thought these books were the best. You can also read my reviews for Aggie Gets Lost and Have Fun, Anna Hibiscus.

Early Reader Finalists

Early Chapter Finalists

6 Comments to “Cybils 2011 Finalists”

  1. There were so many great books on all the lists! I don’t know how you narrowed it down to the finalists. I’d be very interested, as a writer, to hear more about the critique process and how you made your choices. I’m sad that April Fool, Phyllis didn’t make the cut for picture books, but there were so many fantastic books I’m not surprised 🙂

  2. As a second round judge in your category, I say a great big thank you for all your hard work! Now ours begins… what a tough list to choose from! If only there could be more than one winner!!

  3. Man, I need to get reading!

  4. Thanks for your hard work! Last year I managed to read my way through all the finalists, so this year I’m plugging along as well. I’ll have to go look to see what criteria y’all hammered out. I managed to read two of them last year — we are big Elephant and Piggie fans, as well as Clementine groupies.

    Does this count as one category or two? Cybils people have confusing categories sometimes.

    • Early Readers is one category and Early Chapter Books is another category. Because both categories are small in terms of the numbers of books submitted (versus say Fiction PB or YA Fiction) hence just one set of judges. There will be a winner for Early Readers and one for Early Chapter Books. My fellow judge Katie Ahearn wrote up some posts on criteria for Early Readers/Chapter Books. See my posts “What Makes a Great .. ” posts for links to Katie’s.

Leave a Reply

