How to Check out Kindle eBooks – it was Easy Peasy

Yesterday, I posted that OverDrive has launched the capability to check-out eBooks from your public library. One of my readers asked that I post how the experience goes. Then my library did a facebook post with the URL for their OverDrive link for checking out Kindle eBooks. I took this as a sign that I had to try it out and tell you all about it.

Best of all it was Easy – Peasy!

Pre-Requisites:
a) Have a library account setup.
b) Have an Amazon account setup and linked to your Kindle.

So let’s get started!

Step 1Goto the URL
Went to the link posted by my library. My guess is OverDrive is creating similar pages for other library systems, but I do not know for certain.

Step 2 – Find a Book
On this site, there were two ways to quickly get to Kindle books. The first picture was in the left pane of the website, and the second picture was further down in the main content area.

The the second graphic took me to a listing of only new eBooks, hence the reason why there were only 150 eBooks listed. The first graphic took me to the entire catalog of Kindle books available via my library which was 5,444 eBooks. I can only hope this number will grow quickly. Mine did not have Wonderstruck (okay maybe too new), Hunger Games, Pillars of the Earth, etc. After about 8 searches I finally settled on getting “Judy Moody Gets Famous!”


I click on “Add to BookBag”.

Step 3 – Checkout
I clicked on “Proceed to Checkout”.

And “Confirm Checkout”. Then I had to Sign-In with my library credentials. Then I got to the following page.

Here I got a little nervous as it started talking about having the correct digital book software on the computer. Brought back old memories of downloading mp3 files, so I could try to import into iTunes. No it had to be simpler, the press release said so. I decided to ignore all the text and clicked on “Get for Kindle”.

Voila! I got to the Amazon page.

Step 4 – Almost Done

This is where it helps to have your Amazon and Kindle accounts setup first. All I had to do know was click on “Get library book”.

Salagadoola mechicka boola bibbidi-bobbidi-boo
It’ll do magic believe it or not
bibbidi-bobbidi-boo

Step 5 – Check Kindle
Make sure your Wi-Fi is turned on and you have a signal.

I hope you have enjoyed this step-by-step tutorial. Now login to your local library and check out an eBook! Happy Reading!

2 Comments to “How to Check out Kindle eBooks – it was Easy Peasy”

  1. Thanks, Darshana. I have a library account and an Amazon account, so that doesn’t look too bad. Maybe that day is coming when I’ll have to break down and get a Kindle… 🙂

Leave a Reply

