Tons of Trucks

Title: Tons of Trucks

Author: Sue Fliess
Illustrator: Betsy Snyder

Publisher: HMH Books, 2012
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: Birth – 4
Themes: Trucks, Rhyming, Interactive

Opening Lines:

“Tons osf trucks before our eyes, in every color shape and size.

Big trucks, strong trucks, scoop and dig trucks.”

Synopsis (from Amazon website):

Big trucks, small trucks, dump trucks, tow trucks, and all kinds of other trucks can be found in this playful touch-and-move book. A backhoe scoops and digs, a cement truck spins, a tar truck oozes sticky tar, and tabs pull up and out to reveal surprises. The trucks eventually slow down for a rest, where little hands can lift the flaps to see animals snuggling up for sleepy-time—under a rising moon. Filled with vibrant art and adorable characters, this book gives a child everything he’s looking for when he presses his face against the fence at a construction site!

Activities:

Read more truck books, sing truck songs, or do truck crafts! (see this awesome post by Playing by the Book)

More links for truck crafts, printables (coloring sheets, mazes, word puzzles), and Pinterest boards on Cars & Trucks and Transportation.

Why I Like This Book:

Colorful, engaging concept book about trucks which have cute animals too. I fell in love with this book right away. The rhyming text has a good cadence, and the illustrations are just gorgeous. I love the way the colors just pop and the animals have a roundness to them making them appear child-like. The best part is the interactive aspect. The reader gets to pull, push, spin, swing, and lift as they explore all the different trucks. A unique aspect of the book design is that in some of the “lift” or “slide” parts, you don’t just see the rest of the truck but also the characters doing something fun or silly. Good feature which increases the re-readability and play-ability. Each spread shows the trucks at work. The final spread is a bedtime scene with parked trucks under a full moon. Lift the flaps to see how the animals are getting ready for bed.

Perfect holiday gift for any toddler, girl or boy!

This review is part of Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Book series. Visit her site to see the other books recommended.

25 Responses to “Tons of Trucks”

  1. Great trailer! I’m in – headed to the library now!

  2. Just recommended this book to my friend who has a three-year-old nephew. Great interactive book for kids. He’d love it! Love the video.

  3. I won a copy of this but had to say as I was moving at the time… I think it’s a winner.

  4. So glad you chose this awesome book! I had Sue sign a copy for me at LA SCBWI – lucky me!

  5. …and now my son loves this video. It was quite handy when he woke up early!

  6. This sounds like it is not a boy book, it’s for everyone. Reminds me of Bob the Builder. Cute!

  7. Oh, my boys would have SO loved this when they were toddlers.

    • you never know they might still love it. i am purposely hiding my copy from the girls, as it is a bday present for their cousin. don’t want the tabs/flaps getting worn out.

  8. Why oh why wasn’t this book around when my son was little? :) Looks like SO much fun! I’m sure a lot of kids will find this one a can’t-put-downer! Thanks for adding it to our list, Darshana! :)

  9. This looks so cute, Darshana! Neither of my kids have been that into cars/trucks, but I always enjoy the books myself. :-) My favorite when I was little was Mike Mulligan.

  10. This looks like a great book! My kiddo is enthralled with all things trucks — he’s going to love it. Thanks for the recommendation.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,316 other followers

