Yawning Yoga

Title: Yawning Yoga

Author: Laurie Jordan
Illustrator: Aaron Randy
Publisher: 4th Street Media, 2011
Book Type: Fiction
Ages: 3-6
Themes: Yoga, Bedtime

Opening Lines:
“The day is done and it’s time for bed,
but your body’s still moving
and there are thoughts in you head.
So give thanks to your body
for all that it’s done;
from the moment you woke,
’til the day’s setting sun.”

Synopsis (from Yawning Yoga website):

Yawning Yoga is kid-tested (and parent approved!). It is truly and uniquely a book designed specifically to help kids sleep. The books’ careful sequencing makes it the perfect sleepy time book and helps a child establish a bedtime routine that is proven to work.

Incorporating Yawning Yoga into your child’s bedtime routine, provides the perfect sleep solution for your child by helping shift her minds’ focus from being preoccupied with daily stressors to focusing her attention to yoga postures, relaxation techniques and breath work, with the ultimate goal being a restful sleep.

But perhaps what’s most wonderful about Yawning Yoga is that it offers parents the opportunity to positively interact and bond with their children before bedtime, Not only will it help relax kids and increase the quality of their sleep, but will afford parents the same benefits.

Please check out www.yawningyoga.com for more info and to see some of the press and praise Yawning Yoga has received from leading experts in the sleep and yoga fields.

Why I Like This Book:

This is a unique book which provides kids with a sequence of yoga exercises to wind down at night. The first half of the book involves easy yoga positions to help get rid of that extra bit of energy; while the second half of the book shows relaxation exercises to calm the mind.  Perfect combination to calm boisterous little tikes.

Each exercise has its own rhyming stanza and an accompanying illustration.This book is full of kid appeal with both silly exercise names like Jiggle and Wiggle or the Twister, and the accompanying artwork, that starts with vibrant colors transitioning to a soft, soothing palette. The author has also included an index at the end containing a detailed explanation of the benefits, instructions, and photograph for each of the exercises in the story. Laurie Jordan, the author, is a New York-based yoga instructor. She is the creator of Little Sprouts Yoga for Kids and the Director of Kids Programming at Kaia Yoga.

I have read this book several times with my girls and they enjoy the exercises. I love the interactive aspect of this book, it’s a great way to connect with the kids and a lot of fun. I am still working on getting my girls to relax their minds. Funny how kids have ask ten million questions, right as you are trying to turn off the light, or maybe that is just my kids.

Click here to see the book  trailer on the Yawning Yoga website.

Disclosure: I received my copy of Yawning Yoga from the author. This review nevertheless reflects my own and honest opinion about the book.

15 Responses to “Yawning Yoga”

  1. Sounds great, Darshana! (And reminds me that I miss PPBFs :))

  2. Darshana, I love this book! What a great way to help kids calm and focus within. But, I especially liked the fact that kids are taught to thank their bodies for all that they did that day — what a powerful mantra. It teaches respect for the body and to be in a grateful mode. It may make them think twice about doing something harmful to their bodies (bad habits) later in life. This is also a great discussion book. Will definiately puchase.

    • Hi Patricia,
      I must admit I didn’t think much about the whole thanking your bodies aspect until I saw your comment. Thanks for sharing, now I will definitely emphasize those sections along with the others during the routine.
      Thanks!

  3. Hi, Darshana. Thanks again for joining the Read & Romp Roundup. I’m so glad this book fit into the theme. Although my husband is an expert at putting our kids to bed, they always stay a little more wound up with me. Seems like this would be a good book for me to try out!

  4. I like the sound of this book. I read a similar book with my three year old, A Boy and A Bear: A Relaxation Book, and now at bedtime I say, “let’s be like the boy and the bear!” Thanks for linking up to The Children’s Bookshelf. I’m pinning this post.

  5. I’m just so thrilled to have found your site via The Children’s Bookshelf. This book sounds lovely. I loved undertaking some relaxation with my students and I enjoyed Mummy and Bubby yoga with my daughter when she was a baby.

    A book like this might just help us get back into it.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,652 other followers

