Liebster Blog Award

Many, many thanks to fellow Perfect Picture Book Friday and 12 X 12 in 2012 participant Patricia Tilton at Children’s Books Heal for passing the Liebster Blog Award to me. I am very touched that you picked my blog. Take a look at Patricia’s special list of books or healing and helping families with special needs.  It has been a pleasure to get to know her through the blogosphere.

Liebster is a German word, meaning dearest or beloved, but it can also mean favorite. The idea behind the Liebster Blog Award is that it is given to bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers in order to create new connections and bring attention to their  blogs.”

I am required to thank the giver, add the award to my blog, list five things about myself, and select five bloggers to whom I wish to bestow a Liebster Blog Award.

Five Things About Me: (that you may or may not know)

  1. I am of East Indian descent, but was born in Nairobi, Kenya, and raised in the United States.
  2. Was a cheerleader in highschool.
  3. Have an engineering patent to my name. From my days working at Intel Corporation.
  4. Went to Iceland for our honeymoon. Brrr . .  it was little cold at times in the middle of  July!
  5. Have a large extended family and I love it. (25 aunts/uncles, 26 first cousins, 24 nieces/nephews and still growing!)

These are the five blogs I want to honor with the Liebster Award.  I hope you stop by and visit their sites:

Carter Higgins (Design of the Picture Book) – kidlit illustrator

Margaret Grenias (Pen to Print) – kidlit author

Jennifer Young (Castles in the Sky) – kidlit author

Tim McCanna – kidlit author

Kerry Aradhya (Picture Books and Pirouettes) – kidlit author, dance themed blog

21 Comments to “Liebster Blog Award”

  1. Congrats on your Liebster award, Dar and I love it when people choose unusual locations for their honeymoons!

  2. Congrats Darshana!

    Great minds think alike for sure – we both nominated Carter Higgins at Design of the Picture Book!

  3. Congrats on your Liebster award Darshana! What a unique place to go for your honeymoon?! Wonderful post, thanks for sharing a bit about yourself with us and THANK YOU for passing the award my way. I’m very honored.

  4. Congrats on the award, Darshana! :) And you picked great blogs to pass it on to! Iceland, eh? What did you do there?

    • a lot of driving around and seeing the countryside. it was great you could stop in the middle of the road, get out take pictures and not even see another car. the landscape is breath taking.

  5. Congratulations Darshana. I enjoyed learning more about you. We have shared similar interest in multicultural books as well as other topics. Enjoy your blog and book selections. You certainly have an interesting background — born in Nairobi, Kenya. I can’t believe how large your extended family is — must be fun. We adopted a son from Pondicherry, India in 1985. He was older. Again, I’m glad you had fun with the Liebster Award.

  6. Hi, Darshana. Congrats on your award, and thanks so much for passing it on!! I am honored :) I enjoyed learning more about you, too. My husband has a large extended family as well (although it is not quite as large as yours), and we both love it!

  7. Congrats Darshana! enjoyed hearing more about you..
    I too have a huge extended family (on my and my husband’s side as well) and it is fun….
    An engineering patent! – that is interesting and cool…

  8. Hey, I was a cheerleader in high school too! :-)

    Iceland is quite adventurous for a honeymoon, but it’s on my “bucket list.” Fun post!

  9. Congrats on your award, Darshana and thanks for mine! :-) We have a couple of things in common — I was a cheerleader (ahem — letter girl really) in high school and I used to work for Intel. What location were you at? I was in Oregon. Very cool that you have a patent!

  10. Congrats on your award, Darshana — great to learn a little more about you!

  11. Congrats Darshana. I am also a former engineer although I don’t have any patents to my name. Wow, good for you! Which Intel campus did you work at?

    • Hi Hannah,
      What type of engineering work did you do? I actually still work full-time as an engineer supporting customers. I have been working for Broadcom for the last ten years.

  12. Sorry, just finished reading all the comments…

  13. Congrats, darsh! I’m sorry that I didn’t see this sooner (been a little out of it since quitting fb; will follow more closely from now on). This really is a wonderful blog–extremely well done. You deserved to be chosen. Proud of you!! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,321 other followers

