Blueberry Queen

Kylie Jean is back and this time she wants to be “Blueberry Queen” at the town’s annual Blueberry Festival. This spunky, resourceful, young girl knows to become queen you need to have a plan. Who better to help her come up with a plan than her older cousin, Lilly. Armed with a plan Kylie Jean sets out with determination and energy to complete all her tasks for the application process. She cleverly chooses family members and friends best equipped to help her with each of the tasks.

Kylie Jean also knows that to be a beauty queen you have to be beautiful not only on the outside but inside as well. Afterall her mom is always reminding her “Pretty is as pretty does.” Kylie Jean even finds time to help weed Miss Clarabelle’s garden.

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I am not a big fan of beauty pageants so I had my doubts when I started. But Kylie Jean did win me over. She had charm, perseverance, and was self-reliant. I liked that she had a dream and took responsibility to see it through. I also loved the use of the extended family in the storyline. Many chapter books tend to focus on the protagonist and his or her friends and immediate family. Here the author has Kylie Jean not only going to her friends for help but also her cousins and grandparents as well.

The chapters are short and the writing is simple and colorful, perfect for a reader just beginning chapter books. The book also includes a glossary, discussion questions, writing prompts, and a recipe for blueberry cream cheese pie.

Other books in the series include Rodeo Queen, Hoop Queen, and Drama Queen.

Author: Marci Peschke
Illustrator: Tuesday Morning

Blueberry Queen

NOTE: This book was nominated by Jennifer Glidden for the 2011 Cybils Awards in the Easy Reader/Early Chapter Book category. I am a first-round panelist in this category, but this review reflects my opinions only, not those of any other panelist, or the panel as a whole. Thanks!

5 Comments to “Blueberry Queen”

  1. Like you, I’m not a fan of beauty pageants, but this sounds like a book I’d really enjoy! Thanks for sharing it with us!

    P.S. I’ve just tagged you in a meme that goes deeper than most memes. I hope you’ll consider answering it, I’d love to read your thoughts on these questions!

    http://elizabethannewrites.com/2011/10/31/ive-been-memed/

  2. I had the same reaction to this book. I’m not crazy about beauty pageants, but this approach to the idea really won me over. Kylie Jean is such an inspiring and positive character!

  3. I thinks pagents are silly and boring but this sounds cute. And there is a recipe for pie– I’m sold!

    Visiting from Book Talk Tuesday. Nice to find your blog– love the colorful header.

  4. I’m glad you reviewed this book. I saw it and considered reading it for my current book list series about early chapter books. Ultimately I just didn’t have time to read it, but I suspect I put it at the bottom of the pile because of the cover. I definitely want to read it now. Pinning! Thanks for linking up to The Children’s Bookshelf!

    • Thanks. I must admit based on the cover I wouldn’t have picked it up either. But I had to read it for the Cybils last year. It was a pleasant surprise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,703 other followers

